top of page
Search

How it All Began

When I was in 8th grade, I met someone who is deaf. She changed my perspective on what it meant to have a disability.

She was just like everyone else, playing pranks and telling jokes (just in sign language).


That summer, while visiting an aunt of mine, I found her ASL book, which I proceed to read and memorize every sign.

In HS, I would present at the Culture Mix Club about the Deaf community and teach basic sign language.


As a senior in HS, I found research by Dr. McKenzie Ferguson about the need for pharmacists to better serve the Deaf. https://www.pharmacytimes.com/view/how-pharmacists-can-better-assist-deaf-patients

In 2015, I began an American Sign Language Club at STLCOP.


In the spring of 2016, I met an eleven-year-old deaf boy. His biological family did not give him the support he needed as a deaf person, so for the first eleven years of his life, he had no language. He didn't even know his name. It was very heartbreaking.

Thankfully, he was adopted by another family, and all seven of them learned sign language to communicate with him.

This completely changed his life!!!!!!!!!!!

He can read, write, and sign.


“We were so thrilled to find this camp!  Our son came home the first day and was so excited, telling us all about what he did. It was like something we had been hoping for a long time.  He came home telling us he made a friend!  He has NEVER, EVER made a friend before!  His father and I choked back tears.  It was his very first friend and he talked about his little friend all week. He was happier, felt like he belonged and most importantly, he had a friend.  It was a big moment in all of our lives, but mostly his.  We really cannot thank you enough for providing this experience for him.”

A note from his adopted mother after I suggested a camp for Deaf kids. ❤️ I hope it makes you as excited as it makes me!!!


In the fall of 2016, I learned about SNPhA, and its mission to serve the underserved.

Since then, I have collaborated with them to hold seven Health Fairs for patients with disabilities; five in the community at various Centers for Independent Living, and two on campus for students to learn about the resources in our community that advocate for people with disabilities.


You are more than welcome to use this link to find your Center for Independent Living. https://www.ilru.org/projects/cil-net/cil-center-and-association-directory

My goal is that SNPhA organizations across the country will collaborate with their local Center for Independent Living to hold Health Fairs in the community and educational events on campus for pharmacy students to learn and work with people with disabilities, so they can have better access to health information in a way they can understand.


After graduating, my personal goal is to become fluent in sign language with an emphasis on medical sign language, so I can focus on making sure the Deaf community has the best access possible to health information by knowing their language, ASL.

Sign language changes lives! It changed the life of my 11-year-old! I hope it changes the lives of everyone reading this!!! :D

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page